Christmas come and gone

Where did this year go?

The one thing I can say is that I made sure that I packed a lot into in 2022 and I am hoping that now that I have received my Stable Mable results that the next 6 months will be filled with adventures and new experiences.

I have been proud of a few things, mainly the fundraising that I have done for Sue Ryder and Manorlands Hospice with over a £1000 raised for Zip the Cow, Susie the Flowerpot nurse and then the final push selling hats at the local Christmas fairs.

The other thing which made my heart burst was sponsoring a dog I met while on holiday in Spain (at the Los Infiernos Protection home) – it brought not only another friend into my life, Jan his new Mum but the knowledge that she (Lucky Linda, now Molly) is living her old age surrounded by love and lots of it. Next year this will be something I would like to do again.

There are no foreign holidays planned for 2023, just going to play it by ear. This time with all the delays not just at the airport but getting there meant all journeys were tiring and stressful. Only booked one so far, a 3 day break which can’t be more local at 14 miles away, but doing a festival – Food and Drink – and not camping but GLAMPING. Hoping to get tickets to see James Martin and Gino D’Campo and this will be the highlight. If I am poorly the hospital is 5 minutes away with my team although I am hoping a proper bed and toilets means that I will be well looked after!

December saw me see Blue in concert after they took a break from touring, so my first concert of 2023 is Sam Smith at Sheffield Arena – think this concert will be a feast for the eyes but can’t think anything that could top seeing the Wanted at the Royal Albert Hall for the Stand up to Cancer show or when they toured in March.

I said I wouldn’t be doing any fundraising next year (right said my friends) but when an email popped through from my HODU team to say they were having a massive fundraiser called Cuppa for Cancer Care in aid of the Hope for Tomorrow buses (I use them monthly for treatment) I couldn’t say no.

Not intent with asking a few people to my house – not enough chairs – decided in fundraising you go big or you go home. Decided on a date – between Monday 30th January and Sunday 5th February – OURS IS WEDNESDAY 1ST FEBRUARY – Venue SETTLE RUGBY CLUB who kindly gave the venue free. We have even got the milk as ARLA have donated it after I got speaking to them at the Settle Lights Switch on.

Now the planning is taking place for everything else.

Anyone that wants a stall to sell anything – tables are £10 each

Time is 10am until 2pm

We are having a tombola – who doesn’t like a tombola so any donations of Christmas presents you hated, chocolates now you are on that diet when you do dry January. Donations can be brought to Lucy at Forage and Feast at 9 Duke Street Settle when she re-opens on 5th January.

A few things you need to know about the Hope for Tomorrow bus if you see them in your local supermarket or even pub!

26447 Number of patient treatments in 2021

14 Mobile Cancer Care Units

1760 visits in 41 locations

13 Nurses Support Vehicles

I have my treatment in the local Booths carpark in Settle, every 4 weeks on a Thursday, they are 5 minutes away from my house. If I had my treatment at Airedale Hospital I would have a 2 hour round trip plus waiting time, knowing that my cancer treatment has no end as stage4 is only treatable and not curable TIME is precious and I can get on with doing other things.

https://hopefortomorrow.org.uk/

£10 could pay for ONE patient to receive treatment on board one of the mobile units

£30 could enable SEVEN cancer patients to have their PICC line cleaned

£50 could pay for TEN patients pre-chemotherapy blood transfusions on board

£212 could keep one of our mobile cancer care units running for ONE WHOLE DAY.

Come join in the fun!

Leave a comment